Minutes of the January 3, 2006 Re-Organizational Meeting

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m. Present were all Supervisors, Flo McLeish and Carol Merryman. The meeting was tape-recorded.

Mr. Weikert made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Underwood and carried for Ms. McLeish to serve as Acting Chairman.

Ms. McLeish asked for nominations for Chairman.

Mr. Shealer made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Underwood and carried to appoint Mr. Gregor Chairman.

Ms. McLeish turned the meeting over to Chairman Gregor.

Mr. Shealer made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint Mr. Waybright Vice-Chairman.

Mrs. Underwood made a motion, seconded by Mr. Shealer and carried to appoint Mr. Weikert Secretary/Treasurer.

Mr. Weikert made a motion, seconded by Mr. Shealer and carried to appoint Ms. McLeish Manager.

Mr. Weikert made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Underwood and carried to appoint Mrs. Merryman Assistant Secretary/Treasurer.

As advertised, Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to adopt the following Ordinance:

ORDINANCE 06-115

MONOCACY RIVER STORM WATER MANAGEMENT ORDINANCE

Mr. Weikert made a motion, seconded by Mr. Waybright carried to appoint Mr. Shealer Superintendent of Roads.

Mrs. Underwood made a motion, seconded by Mr. Shealer and carried to appoint Mr. Chris Walter Assistant Superintendent of Roads.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint Mr. Barry Sease Chief of Police.

Mr. Shealer made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint Mr. Bill Naugle Zoning Officer and Building Inspector.

Mrs. Underwood made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint KPI Technology Township Engineer.

Mr. Weikert made a motion, seconded by Mr. Waybright and carried to appoint Mr. Henry O. Heiser, III Solicitor.

Mrs. Underwood made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint Chester G. Schultz Solicitor for the Zoning Hearing Board.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint Gil Picarelli Sewage Enforcement Officer.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint Dominic Picarelli Backup Sewage Enforcement Officer.

Mr. Shealer made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint Mrs. Donna Maring Per Capita Tax Collector.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to set the tax collector's compensation at 3% at discount, 5% at par and 10% at penalty.

Mr. Shealer made a motion, seconded by Mr. Waybright and carried to appoint Mr. Weikert as the township's representative to the York Adams Tax Bureau and Ms. McLeish as the alternate representative.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint Mr. Ron Bower Chairman of Vacancy Board.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint Mr. James Fox Director of Emergency Management.

Mrs. Underwood made a motion, seconded by Mr. Waybright and carried to appoint Mr. Barry Sease Deputy Director of Emergency Management.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Underwood and carried to retain Adams County National Bank as depositor for the Township's funds.

Mr. Weikert made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Underwood and carried to continue meeting on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month at 7:30 p.m. and holding a workshop on the Friday morning proceeding at 8:30 a.m.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to authorize all Supervisors to attend the 2006 PSATS Convention in Hershey, PA.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to bond the Manager, Treasurer, and Assistant Treasurer for 1,500,000.00.

Mrs. Underwood made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to appoint Ms. McLeish representative to the Community Relations Committee.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Shealer and carried to appoint Ralph Haller, Ron Bower, Riley Hollingsworth and John Straka to the Planning Commission for four-year terms expiring 12/31/09.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Underwood and carried to appoint Robert Rohrbaugh to the Zoning Hearing Board for a three-year term expiring 2/1/09.

Mr. Shealer made a motion, seconded by Mr. Waybright and carried to appoint Flo McLeish and John Walter to the Historical Architectural Review Board for five-year terms expiring 12/31/10.

Mr. Shealer made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Underwood and carried to approve the raise in stipends for Authority Board members, as requested by the Authority, to \$1,200.00 per year for members and \$1,450.00 for the Chairman.

Mr. Waybright made a motion, seconded by Mr. Weikert and carried to form committees as follows:

FINANCE Mr. Weikert and Mr. Gregor

PLANNING & ZONING Mr. Waybright and Mrs. Underwood

PUBLIC SAFETY Mrs. Underwood, Mr. Weikert and Mr. Gregor

HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION Mr. Shealer and Mr. Weikert

Mr. Weikert made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Underwood and carried to adopt the following Resolution:

RESOLUTION 06-01

A RESOLUTION ELIMINATING EMPLOYEE CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE POLICE PENSION PLAN FOR 2006

BE IT RESOLVED AND ENACTED by the Authority of Cumberland Township, Adams County, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, by the Board of Supervisors, it is hereby resolved and enacted as follows:

The conditions required by Act 600 allowing for the elimination of employee contributions to the Police Pension Plan have been met;

- ** The condition of the plan is such that contributions may be reduced, or eliminated, as evidenced by an actuarial study;
- ** Municipal contributions will not be required to keep the fund actuarially sound;

ENACTED AND RESOLVED THIS 3rd DAY OF JANUARY, 2006 BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF CUMBERLAND TOWNSHIP

/SGN/ JOHN P. GREGOR /SGN/ THOMAS D. SHEALER /SGN/ GEORGE A. WEIKERT /SGN/ DAVID P. WAYBRIGHT /SGN/ BARBARA H. UNDERWOOD

CERTIFIED TO BE A TRUE COPY OF THE CUMBERLAND TOWNSHIP POLICE PENSION PLAN RESOLUTION, ADOPTED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ON JANUARY 3, 2006.

/SGN/ CAROL A. MERRYMAN, ASSISTANT SECRETARY

Mr. Weikert made a motion, seconded by Mr. Waybright and carried to adopt the following Resolution:

RESOLUTION 06-02

A RESOLUTION APPOINTING THE CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER OF THE MUNICIPAL PENSION PLANS FOR CUMBERLAND TOWNSHIP

We appoint John P. Gregor as the Administrative Officer for the Police and Non-Uniformed Pension Plans of Cumberland Township.

^{**} The governing body of the Municipality eliminates contributions on an annual basis.

ENACTED AND ORDAINED THIS CUMBERLAND TOWNSHIP.	3 3rd DAY OF JANUARY, 2006	BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF
/SGN/JOHN P. GREGOR /SGN/ DAVID P. WAYBRIGHT	/SGN/ THOMAS D. SHEALER /SGN/ BARBARA H. UNDERV	/SGN/ GEORGE A. WEIKERT /OOD
CERTIFIED TO BE A TRUE COPY OF CUMBERLAND TOWNSHIP RESOLUTION APPOINTING CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER FOR MUNICIPAL PENSION PLAN RESOLUTION ADOPTED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ON JANUARY 3, 2006.		
/SGN/ CAROL A. MERRYMAN, A	SSISTANT SECRETARY	
Being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:05 p.m. by motion of Mr. Weikert, seconded by Mrs. Underwood and carried.		
		Carol A. Merryman, Asst. Secretary
)	

___) Supervisors